Wimmera UB campuses officially change to Federation Uni

THE University of Ballarat is now officially known as Federation University.

The university includes all former University of Ballarat campuses and Monash University's Gippsland campus.

Western campuses head Geoff Lord said a lot of preparation had gone into today's name change.

"All the signs have been changed, templates for our minutes and letters, lapels, name badges, business cards and the signs on our vehicles," he said. "It's been a hectic few months."

He said the western campuses in Horsham, Stawell and Ararat would now be known as the Wimmera campus.

"The name change represents growth in the university," he said.

"Federation University represents Ballarat, Gippsland and the Wimmera."

Mr Lord said Wimmera students would benefit from being part of the new university.

"They can study without having to leave home," he said.

"Twenty per cent of our students are school leavers and they can step in and out of education when it suits them."

He said new courses would be offered to Wimmera students because of the inclusion of Gippsland.

"We will have business and

education courses here but we will also have a large suite of online courses available," he said.

"Courses available in Gippsland and Ballarat can be studied in the Wimmera."

Mr Lord said staff were excited about the change.

"We are especially pleased with the new name of the Wimmera campus it acknowledges where we come from and is a special place for everyone," he said.

The university is now taking enrolments for 2014.

"We've had 23 applications already from students in the Wimmera," Mr Lord said.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide