Nominations open for Wimmera sports stars' night of nights

WIMMERA sport's night of nights, the Horsham Sports and Community Club Sports Star of the Year Award dinner, is rapidly approaching.

The awards provide a forum for individuals and groups who make a significant sporting contribution to the Wimmera community to be recognised.

The gala dinner awards night will be on February 10.

As well as the athletes nominated for the main Sports Star of the Year Award, volunteers, officials and club supporters are also celebrated.

Wimmera Regional Sports Assembly executive officer David Berry encouraged members of the community to nominate people doing an outstanding job in local sport, even if they were not athletes.

"The awards present a once a year opportunity for the whole of the Wimmera region to focus on those who make our sport and our club work well," he said. "We get a chance to say, 'well done' to those who do things well both on and off the field of play.

"Every nominee receives an inscribed certificate signed by Minister for Sport and Recreation Hugh Delahunty and all winners receive trophies, which we know are in pride of place in clubs and homes."

Guest speaker on the evening will be dual Olympic swimmer Belinda Hocking.

Hocking will speak about what it took to become an Olympian and her rise up the Australian swimming ranks. Berry said nominations closed on January 31, and forms were available on the Sports Assembly website or at the office at 17 McLachlan St, Horsham.

Award categories: Leading Edge Computers Team of the Year; Wilson Bolton and Co Coach of the Year; Wimmera Eye Care Sporting School of the Year; Bentley Group Unsung Hero of the Year; WestVic Academy of Sport Under-15 Junior Athlete of the Year; Wimmera Design and Print Administrator or Official of the Year; Tylers Hardware and Rural Supplies Over-50 Veteran of the Year; Wimmera Trophies and Gifts Club of the Year; Access All Abilities Sports Star Award for Persons with a Disability; Goolum Goolum Koori Sports Star Award; 3WM Tom Gawith Sportsmanship Award; Wimmera Mail-Times Women in Sport Award; WRSA Grass Roots Award.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide