Horsham Sports Star of the Year award to be announced

ELEVEN Wimmera sportspeople are in contention, but only one can take home the prestigious Horsham Sports and Community Club’s 2013 Sports Star Of The Year award on Monday night.

Wimmera Regional Sports Assembly executive officer David Berry said the assembly’s night of nights would pay tribute to another outstanding field of Wimmera athletes.

See who has been nominated throughout 2013 here

“It’s a big night, we’re pretty proud of our Sports Star Of The Year awards,” he said.

“We’re proud of what we’ve been able to achieve and recognising the outstanding sporting talent in the Wimmera.

“It’s an outstanding field of athletes in team and individual sports, and it’s really good clubs have got behind it and supported the awards.”

The award carries trophies and a $1,000 Sports Star Scholarship, which the winner can use to advance their sporting career.

Previous winners have included wheelchair basketballer Jannik Blair, croquet player Ken Bald, shooter Alethea Sedgman and cyclist Mark O’Brien.

Blair, last year’s winner, will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at the event.

On top of the Sports Star Of The Year award will be 12 special category winners, including the unsung hero award, coach of the year, team of the year and club of the year awards.

Berry said Minister for Sport and Recreation Hugh Delahunty would be attending, and there had been a change in guest speakers.

London Olympics water polo bronze medallist Rowena Webster and London Paralympian cyclist Stuart Tripp will be in attendance, after initial speaker Belinda Hocking, a dual Olympic swimmer, suffered a recent injury.

Proceedings get underway at Horsham’s Holy Trinity Lutheran School hall at 6.30pm.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide