WFL season draw released

THE draw for the 2014 Wimmera Football League season has been released.

See the Wimmera league draw here

The league's commission approved the draw at a meeting on Monday night.

It comes after Horsham RSL Diggers Football Netball Club officially confirmed it would not participate in the league this season.

The club's board and the Natimuk Fooball Netball Club board last month voted in favour of amalgamation.

The clubs are continuing to negotiate an agreement on the final structure, which will be voted on by the clubs' individual membership bases at a special meeting on Wednesday next week.

This year's Wimmera league draw will include 16 rounds - the same as previous seasons.

There will be two split rounds instead of each club receiving two byes.

Each club will play two teams twice and the match-ups have been based on last year's senior football ladder.

Teams that finished in the top three will play two teams from the top five three times. 

Teams that finished in fourth and fifth will play a top-three side and a team from outside the five.

Teams that finished outside the five will play either the fourth or fifth-placed team and one team from outside the top five.

One team that finished outside the top five will play two sides that finished out of the top five.

The season will start on April 12.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide