Winiam wins West Wimmera grand final

WINIAM is the 2013-14 West Wimmera Cricket Association premier after beating Nhill by one wicket in a thrilling grand final at Davis Park at the weekend.

Ben Marra was the hero for the Wolves, making an unbeaten 40 yesterday and scoring the winning runs after a nail-biting final-wicket stand with number 11 batsman Jordan Gurry.

Winiam was 9-96 when Gurry came to the crease still 31 runs short of Nhill's first-innings total of 127.

The match hung in the ballance but Marra and Gurry were unfazed.

Marra protected the strike for the majority of his innings, while Gurry did his job by staying at the crease.

The pair guided the Wolves to 9-136 to capture their second premiership in four years.

Winiam's Simon Brearley who was part of Winiam's most recent premiership team in 2010-11 said it was a thrilling feeling.

"The guys who played in this match and the last one are only the second playing group in the history of Winiam Cricket Club to be dual premiership players," he said.

"The last time that happened was in the 1920s after that there were about 30 years until the next premiership, 30 until the next one and then 30 years again.

"It definitely gives us a lot of pride ."

Nhill elected to bat first after

winning the toss on Saturday.

The Tigers were restricted to 127 by a Winiam bowling attack that kept the pressure on, but the Wolves dropped several early chances.

Opener Luke Smith, 27, and Zac Webb, 28, were Nhill's top-scorers.

Jayden Fischer, 3-20, led the Winiam bowlers, while newly-crowned Wes Warrick Memorial Cricketer of the year and co-MVP Brad Clark, 2-25, also chipped in.

Winiam looked in a commanding position before losing two wickets before the close of play on Saturday.

It resumed at 2-22 yesterday and got to work quickly, but after Clark, 31, and Brodie Cramer, 27, departed, there were few runs to be found, as Jayden Fischer, Josh Jarred, Ben Bryan, Adam Bound and Nathan Sparling combined for just two runs.

Mitch Dahlenburg led the Nhill bowlers with 3-26 from 12 overs and Ben Pollock claimed 2-27.

Brim-Kellalac-Sheep Hills and St Mary's will contest the Wimmera-Mallee Cricket Association A Grade grand final at the weekend after winning their semi-finals over Donald and St Arnaud respectively. For full reports, see Wednesday's Mail-Times.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide