Hockey's best awarded

WIMMERA Hockey Association has crowned its best and fairest players for the 2012 season.

Association spokeswoman Vicki Smithyman said Warracknabeal's Paul Slater won the men's best and fairest award, polling 40 votes to edge out Nhill Rangers' Mont Miller, 38 votes.

Yanac Tigers' Adam Clohesy and Dimboola's James Klinge tied for third spot with 36 votes. Dimboola's Jamie Guerin won the goal-scoring award.

Yanac's Erin Blackwood was a runaway winner in the women's best and fairest count, polling 55 votes to beat Dimboola pair Elizabeth Klinge, 47 votes, and Meaghan Polhner, 45 votes.

Smithyman, of Dimboola, was named the women's leading goal-scorer.

Kaniva Raider's Braden Clark was crowned the boys' best and fairest winner, receiving 39 votes to finish in front of Warracknabeal Revengers' Hamish Wagenknecht, 35 votes.

Clark also won the league goal-scoring award, recognising his outstanding effort of nailing 48 goals this season.

Yanac's Louise Bone romped to victory in the girls' best and fairest count with 46 votes, finishing 11 votes clear of runner-up Emma Janetzki, of Nhill Leopards.

Smithyman said Clint Beattie, of Kaniva, won the golden whistle award for his umpiring contribution for the season, while Dimboola's Sally Klinge and Yanac's Kim Croot won the silver whistle and bronze whistle awards, respectively.

Senior encouragement awards were presented to Horsham duo Stuart Hoffmann and Elly O'Connor.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide