Golfers tee off for Horsham memorial trophy

TODAY'S Nell Smithett Memorial Trophy at Horsham Golf Club is set to be another fantastic spectacle.

Horsham Golf Club captain Julie Wirth said more than 70 Victorian players would compete in the prestigious ladies teams event.

Wirth said last year's

winners Warrnambool quartet, consisting of former Horsham golfer Di Howland, Robyn Westacott, Robyn Ballinger and Lauren Higgins would not be back to defend their title.

"Unfortunately the defending champs won't be back due to the tournament clashing with an event in the Warrnambool region," she said.

It has been a busy week for the club, which hosted a four-ball best-ball stableford aggregate tournament on Tuesday and an Open Individual Stableford event yesterday.

Tuesday's event was won by Dawn Harnath and Dorothy Adamson, with a score of 74.

Yesterday it was Bordertown's Karon Binning who won the division one event with 35 points.

Horsham's Joan Williams was victorious in division two with 36 points.

It was a thrilling finish to the division three event with Dawn Scott winning on a countback with 36 points.

Tee-off is at 9.30am today and the event runs until about midday.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide