Stawell golf champs 

Stawell quartet Kaye Skinner, Del Gray, Laura Martin and Leigh Johnston won this year's Nell Smithett Memorial Trophy at Horsham Golf Course on Friday.

Marg Lampard, Tracy Hywood, Lynda Saunders and Caroline James finished five points off the pace in second spot.

More than 70 golfers from Victoria and South Australia converged on Horsham.

Horsham Golf Club ladies captain Julie Wirth said it was a fantastic tournament with a thrilling finish.

"The winning score was very good, with the Stawell team achieving a net score of 220 points," she said.

"It was a close competition with second, third and fourth place scoring 225, 226, 226 points respectively."

Mrs Wirth said a large number of players had expressed interest for next year's event.

On Sunday, 66 people attended the Peter Fechner Memorial Par Three Day.

Ladies division one honours went to Horsham's Dawn Scott with 47 points, while fellow Horsham golfer Joy Tonkin finished second with 38 points.

Dorothy Adamson, of Horsham, took out the division two ladies competition with 47 points and Lorraine Mitchell came second with 32 points. In men's division one, it was a Horsham double, with Chris Smith edging out Damien Kilpatrick by one point.

Drung's Jack Armstrong was the pick of the division two men's competition, finishing one-point clear of Horsham's Josh Jenkins.

Men's captain John Priestly said it was fitting for Armstrong, who had done so much for the Wimmera golfing community.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide