Ararat Storm wins second premiership | Photos

The Ararat Storm have won back-to-back premierships after a 39-point win against Ballarat Swans in the Ballarat Football League Youth Girls grand final on September 3.

The Storm dominated from the first bounce finished comfortable 7.11.53 to 2.2.14 victors to win their second flag.

Storm coach Krystal Cameron said she team’s dominance in the season decider was unexpected. “It sort of blew us all out of the water, the first quarter the girls came out and went bang bang bang and I think even the Swans were wondering what was happening,” she said. “I would have to say it was their best first quarter of the season. It was surprising but I knew that is something they were capable of.”

Meg Wik starred for the Storm up forward and provided a strong target inside the forward 50. She finished with four goals to lead the Storm’s goal kicking tally. Cameron said she was very impressed with Wik’s game. “That is her role for as long as I have been there, I would say she had her best game I have seen her play,” she said.

Cameron said it was great to see the team continue to develop and improve their football across the year. “From last year, the quality was much better in this year’s final which shows how much they have improved since then,” she said.

Storm captain Ayesha Nicholson was named the best player on the ground.