Warrack Eagles celebrate season 2017

THE Warrack Eagles took time out to celebrate what has been another season of growth at the club on Friday.

Four out of five senior Warrack Eagles teams made it through to finals and president Adrian Bibby said numbers continued to be strong at a junior level.

“That’s all you can really ask for,” he said.

“Our A Grade and senior footy teams continue to perform well as the club’s flagships and membership numbers continue to rise.”

Hard-working club stalwart Paul ‘Shorty’ Winsall was awarded the Neville Marshman Memorial award as the Warrack Eagles club person of the year during the presentation night.

“Shorty is the type of guy that is typical of the kind you would expect to win these kinds of awards,” Bibby said.

“He is just always at the club doing something or another. 

“He’s a past player that had played a number of games for the club and he just continues to hang around to help out in any way that he can.”

Bibby said the board went through a voting process before deciding who would take out the award each year.

Dean Gunn, Rikki Nitschke and Zane Jess all received special awards having notched up 200 games at the club during the season.

Senior football coach Ryan McKenzie took out the Brennan medal ahead of runner-up Kieran Ellis.

After claiming the association’s hatcher medal a fortnight ago Emma Koschitzke added the Notting Medal to her collection. 

Koschitzke took out the A grade best and fairest award ahead of resolute defender Penny Fisher. 

Club Awards

Neville Marshman Memorial award – Paul ‘Shorty’ Winsall

200 games – Dean Gunn, Rikki Nitschke and Zane Jess

Senior football

Best and Fairest – Ryan McKenzie

Runner-up –  Kieren Ellis 

Most Consistant - Mal Douglas 

Most Determined - Ben Spicer 

Best U/21 player - Riley Morrow - Josh Bibby 

Most Improved - Josh Bibby 

Coaches Awards - Scott Adams

Best in Finals - Scott Adams 

Reserves football

Best and Fairest – Jordan Taylor

Runner-up – Tom East

Most Consistent - Zane Jess

Most Determined - Sean Winsall 

Most Improved - Tyler Arnold

Coaches Award - Sean Wright

A Grade

Best and fairest - Emma Koschitzke

R/unner-up - Penny Fisher

Coaches Award - Zandria Molone 

Best in Finals - Emma Koschitzke

B Grade 

Best and fairest - Jamie Lee Bennett 

Runner-up - Maddison Kate Peters

Coaches Award - Megan Pryor

Best in Finals - Megan Pryor

C Grade

Best and fairest - Deb Templeton 

Runner-up - Hayley McGrath 

Coaches Award - Lucinda Taylor 

Best in finals - Elyssia Preston