Clugston and Cocks on top for Jeparit-Rainbow

Heath Clugston and Rylee Cocks took out the top best and fairest awards for Jeparit-Rainbow at the club’s presentation night on on Friday September 29.

Clugston played predominantly across half-back in the senior Storm side in 2017. He jumped out to an early lead in the count before holding off fast-finishing midfielder Shan Maslin to win by a six-vote margin.

It was Clugston’s eighth best and fairest award win at the club.

Rylee Cocks has won the A Grade netball Best and Fairest for 2017 by five votes from Alex Schulz. Bridget McKenzie rounded out the top three a further seven votes back with Breanna Eastick and Remi Kuhne in fourth and fifth.

In the reserves football count veteran Steve Murphy took out his second straight best and fairest award.

Murphy polled votes in most games to edge out joint coach Brett Jensz and ruckman Kris Paech.

Jensz was called upon to play a handful of senior games during the season which may have ultimately cost him the top award.

In the B Grade Nadia Wedding and Odette Heinrich went neck and neck for the whole season before Nadia won by two votes.

Chantelle Fisher was a runaway winner in C grade. Chantelle finished twenty votes ahead of Lillian McKenzie.

Melissa Butler edged out Laura Sleep to win the C Reserve count in what was her first year of netball since middle school.

Seniors  football

B&F- Heath Clugston

Runner-up- Shane Maslin

Most determined- John Cozens

Most Consistent- Sean Bayzand

Best Team Man- Tyler Edelsten

Coaches- Peter Weir

Leading goal Kicker- Ash Clugston

Best in Finals- Ash Clugston

Reserves football

B&F- Steve Murphy

Runner-up- Brett Jensz

Most Determined- Shannon Launer

Most Consistent- Alan Roberts

Best Team Man- Matt Cozens

Coaches- Maydon Roll

Leading Goal Kicker- Marcus Hiscock

A Grade:

Best and fairest - Rylee Cocks

Runner-up- Alex Schulz

Coach’s award - Remi Kuhne

B Grade:

Best and fairest - Nadia Wedding

Runner-up- Odette Heinrich

Coach’s award - Kristy Robertson

C Grade:

Best and fairest - Chantelle Fisher

Runner-up- Lillian McKenzie

Coach’s award- Chelsea Sanders

C Reserve:

Best and fairest - Melissa Butler

Runner-up- Laura Sleep

Coach’s award- Birte Niemeier