Laharum Football and Netball Club remember season with presentation ball

A YOUNG Laharum team was put together at the start of the 2017 Horsham District league season with co-coaches Todd Heynen and Robbie Miller at the helm. 

The squad successfully made finals but was knocked out by Jeparit-Rainbow in the qualifying final. The club celebrated a strong year with several players and club members being recognised. 

There were dual winners of the club man award at the Laharum presentation ball in Pat Hernon and Sarah Pye. 

Laharum chairman Nadine Miller said Hernon did things under the radar. 

“He mows the ground, gets the wood, starts the fire before everyone gets to the ground,” she said. 

“He sneaks in and does the jobs people sometimes take for granted.” 

Pye was in charge of the social events at the club. 

“She also raised almost $4000 for Rachael’s Wish,” Miller said. 

“She did a wonderful job with the social events.” 

Vanessa Lenehan was awarded the chairman’s award.

Robbie Miller and Heynen were standouts for their senior outfit, which earned them the best and fairest trophy and runner-up trophy respectively. 

It was Miller who was the clear winner of the MacInnes Memorial medal. 

Nadine Miller said Robbie Miller bounced back after breaking his leg in the 2016 season. 

In the A Grade netball the 2017 Horsham District league best and fairest, Caitlin Story, took out the club best and fairest trophy. 

She was followed by runner-up Ema Iredell. 

Miller said Story had a stellar season. 

“I think it was one of her best years of her life,” she said. 

“Caito is a quiet achiever, she doesn’t say much but it was good to see it added to her league best and fairest.” 

Rebecca McIntyre, one of the A Grade netball teams best performers in 2017, has been named the coach for 2018. 

McIntyre is an experienced country netballer who played for Horsham United in the Wimmera Netball Association and Noradjuha-Quantong in the Horsham District league. 

She is predominantly a goal keeper but due to her height, she has played in goal shooter during the 2017 season, by previous coach Liz Reddie. 

Miller said McIntyre was an older, wiser head among a young team and she put her hand up to take on the role. 

“She has a lot of premierships under her belt. I would say she will still play next year too. She has been doing everything she can to make herself better and ready for the next season,” she said.

Club awards

Club person of the year – Pat Hernon and Sarah Pye

Chairman’s award – Vanessa Lenehan

Senior Football 

Best and fairest MacInnes Memorial medal – Robbie Miller 

Runner-up – Todd Heynen

Most consistent – Tom Crawford

Best team man – Gerard Matthews

Most improved – Shannon Reddie 

Coach’s award – Angus Martin 

Best first year – Kane Mason 

Reserves Football 

Best and fairest Miller Memorial medal – Jack Butler 

Runner-up – Hamish Roberts 

Most consistent – Lachie Tanner 

Best utility – Daniel Ervin 

Most determined – Lachie Tanner 

Coach’s award – Matt Reddy 

Under-17s Football 

Best and fairest Uebergang Memorial medal – Will Miller 

Runner-up – Jack Brennan 

Most consistent – Lochie Hateley 

Reynolds best – Sean Wouters 

Most improved – Tristan Chincarini 

Best first year – Archie Harrison 

Coach’s award – Josh Haby

Seniors perpetual – Will Miller 

Under-14s Football 

Best and fairest – Harry Miller 

Runner-up – Cooper Tyler 

Most consistent – Rigby Wynne 

Reynolds best – Cody Cross 

Most improved – Ben Moerkerk 

Coach’s award – Ben Ball 

Best in finals – Harry Miller 

A Grade Netball 

Best and fairest – Caitlin Story 

Runner-up – Ema Iredell 

Second runner-up – Erin Mellington 

Coach’s award – Ally Hiscock

B Grade Netball 

Best and fairest – Courtney Guy 

Runner-up – Sarah Koenig 

Second runner-up – Nia Harrison 

C Grade Netball 

Best and fairest – Bianca Mibus

Runner-up – Carmen Dridan 

Second runner-up – Leah Askew 

C Reserve Netball 

Best and fairest – Alanna Miller 

Runner-up – Rachel Da Graca Costa and Malory Ryan 

Second runner-up – Larni Emmerton