Natimuk United celebrate successful season

Sam Anson has been named Natimuk United's best and fairest. Picture: Stuart McGuckin
Sam Anson has been named Natimuk United's best and fairest. Picture: Stuart McGuckin

NATIMUK United enjoyed one of the club’s most successful years to date in the Horsham District league and celebrated with its vote count night. 

Husband and wife duo Gerry and Ruth McCallum received a dual club person of the year award at the presentation night. 

In the senior vote count, playing-coach Sam Anson received the best and fairest trophy after a strong returning season at his boyhood club. 

Anson led the Rams to its first finals series in more than 20 years. 

Runner-up for the Rams was Brent Marra. 

The Ewes A Grade netball team had arguably one of the best finals series in 2017, defeating the likes of Laharum and Harrow-Balmoral in the grand final. 

They came away with a premiership and playing-coach Cheryl Sudholz was named best on court on the grand stage. 

Sudholz also took home the club best and fairest award after an impressive season. 

Cassey Vanstan was named the runner-up after a strong, defensive year. 

Jeremy Schmidt and Jake Rudolph were dual reserves football best and fairest winners. 

Adam Gibbs was the runner-up award winner. 

In the B Grade netball Erica Blake was named the best and fairest while Seona Mabery was the runner-up best and fairest. 

Damian Temple was awarded the Kokoda medal while Brooklyn Fraser was named the junior netball ambassador and Daniel Werner was named the junior football ambassador. 

Club awards

Club person award – Gerry and Ruth McCallum 

Junior netball ambassador – Brooklyn Fraser

Junior football ambassador – Daniel Werner 

Kokoda medal – Damian Temple 

Senior football 

Best and fairest – Sam Anson 

Runner-up – Brent Marra 

Third best and fairest – Alex Ridsdale 

Best team player – Mark Eldridge 

Coach’s award – Nathan Koenig 

Most determined – Alex Ridsdale 

Goal kicking – Nathan Koenig (54 goals) 

Reserve football 

Best and fairest – Jeremy Schmidt and Jake Rudolph 

Runner-up – Adam Gibbs 

Third best and fairest – Woody Conboy and Tyler Coutts 

Best team player – Ashley Loft 

Coach’s award – Ben Perkin 

Most determined – Rhys Wilkinson

Under-17s football 

Best and fairest – Kyah Wilkinson 

Runner-up – Zach Smith 

Third best and fairest – Riley Jervis 

Most determined – Brendan Purchase 

Most improved – Henry Mackley 

Coach’s award – Callum Hayes 

Goal kicking – Austin King (36 goals) 

Under-14s football 

Best and fairest – Lachlan Hobbs 

Runner-up – Liam Klowss 

Third best and fairest – Mitchell Clarke 

Most determined – Cody Maybery 

Coach’s award – Archie Sudholz 

Encouragement award – Ned Glascott 

A Grade netball 

Best and fairest – Cheryl Sudholz 

Runner-up – Casey Vanstan 

Third best and fairest – Caitlyn Batson 

Best in finals – Caitlyn Batson

B Grade netball 

Best and fairest – Erican Blake 

Runner-up – Seona Maybery 

Third best and fairest – Courtney Price 

Best in finals – Lashay Quick 

Coach’s award – Janelle Bales 

C Grade netball 

Best and fairest – Courtney Mason 

Runner-up – Sophie Hanson 

Third best and fairest – Sigrid Darrington 

Best in finals – Pauline Payne 

Coach’s award – Shelly Stockdale

C Reserve netball 

Best and fairest – Cherie Tomlins 

Runner-up – Monique Emmett 

Third best and fairest  – Tayla Hateley 

Best in finals – Emily Anson 

Coach’s award – Sally Hateley

17 and Under netball 

Best and fairest – Jerae Trigg

Runner-up – Brooklyn Fraser 

Third best and fairest – Mykayla Lyall 

Rising star – Phoebe Cowell 

15 and Under netball 

Best and fairest – Georgia Hobbs 

Runner-up – Cassie Hateley 

Third best and fairest – Bridget Mackley 

Rising star – Kristen Smith 

13 and Under netball 

Best and fairest – Macey Maybery 

Runner-up – Bethany Sudholz 

Third best and fairest – Olivia Sudholz 

Rising star – Nalani Payne