Wimmera police officers recognised for service | Photos

WIMMERA police officers who put their lives at risk to help others have been recognised.

Thirty-three officers were presented with awards at an annual ceremony last week.

Wimmera Superintendent Paul Margetts said it was fantastic that so many regional officers were recognised.

“Members do a marvelous job throughout the year, but it’s nice to get together and recognise their hard work,” he said.

Victoria Police Service Medals were presented to Nhill’s Karyleen Hateley, Willaura’s Neil Bradford, Stawell’s Paul Fitzell, Stawell’s Jason Grant, Halls Gap’s Kellie Harris and Horsham’s Kendall Seater.

Stawell’s Wendy Wheaton received a National Police Service Medal. 

Superintendent Margetts said the medals were awarded for ethical and diligent service.

He said to be eligible for the national medal, officers must have completed at least 15 years’ service.

Ararat’s Jamie Bennett received the G20 Citation 

“The G20 Citation acknowledges the successful security services provided by police during G20 events in Queensland during 2014,” Superintendent Margetts said.

Divisional commendations were awarded to Horsham’s Troy Curran, Horsham’s Travis Kerr, Ararat’s Gjalt Erkelens, Stawell’s Russell Brown and Ararat’s Ian McLean. Stawell’s Jason Grant, Ararat’s Jamie Bennett, Stawell’s Paul Fitzell, Halls Gap’s Kellie Harris and Lake Bolac’s Sam McCaskill also received divisional commendations.

Superintendent Margetts said the commendations recognised exceptional performance during trying events.

He said majority of the Wimmera officers who received the award performed CPR on people in an attempt to save their lifves.

“It’s a highly traumatic piece of first aid and it can be a very emotional experience,” he said. “These officers did everything they could to save a person’s life and they are very courageous.” 

Awards for 15 years went to Dimboola’s Cal Myers and Darren Sadler and Horsham’s Matt Cashman.

Awards for 25 years went to Kaniva’s Phil Shiells and Stawell’s Russell Brown.

Awards for 35 years went to Jeparit’s Graham Blair, Ararat’s Ben Van Maanen and Superintendent Margetts. 

Ararat’s Anthony Passlick received the first clasp to the national medal