Stawell Warriors 2017 best and fairest awards

The Stawell Warriors Football Netball Club recognised three of its volunteers by inducting them as life members at the club’s presentation night on Saturday. 

David Kaczynski, Brett Graveson and Shane Field were inducted following their various contributions to the Warriors. 

Kaczynski currently serves as Stawell’s bar manager, Graveson coached the under 17 football team and Field serves on the club’s committee. 

All three men have volunteered their time to the club for the better part of the last decade or longer. 

Field said accolades such as this is not why he dedicates his time to the Warriors.

“Awards like these aren’t something you work towards as a player or volunteer, it is all about the club and team,” he said. 

“It is great to be recognised by such a great club.”

Former Baggie Sean Mantell took out Stawell’s senior football best and fairest in his first year back at the Warriors. 

Mantell finished ahead of coach Tom Eckel and David Andrivon who finished level as runners-up.

Defender Lisa Fleming took out the best and fairest for the A Grade team. 

It was a tough season for the A Grade Warriors, unable to notch a win in 2017. Fleming said there are positive signs for the club’s future.

“We developed our younger players which was a positive. We played a lot better this year than what our record suggests.”




B&F – Sean Mantell (41 votes)

Runners-up – Tom Eckel and David Andrivon (32 votes)

Most consistent – Jackson Dark

Leading goal kicker – David Andrivon (39 goals)

Most improved – Jesse Barber and Benjamin Leong

Coach’s award – Julian Carr

Best under 21 – Jackson Taurau

A Grade

B&F – Lisa Fleming (49 votes)

Runner up – Tarnee Orr (44 votes)

Coach’s award – Ebony Summers

18 and under encouragement award – Maggie Clough


B&F – James Devery (55 votes)

Runner up – Shane Field (33 votes)

Most consistent – Brae Scantleton and Jarrod Illig 

Leading goal kicker – Mitchell Kelly (36 goals)

Most improved – Bradlee Carnovale

Coach’s award – Kai Ridler

David Stanes Memorial Award – Ryan Cullen

B Grade

B&F – Kristy Matthews (52 votes)

Runner up – Courtney McIlvride (30 votes)

Coach’s award – Kirby Griffiths and Sarah Morris

C Grade

B&F – Michelle Beaton (68 votes)

Runner up – Natasha Reading (51 votes)

Coach’s award – Sophie Barber and Jade Allen

Under 17 football

B&F – Paul Summers (70 votes)

Runner up – Bailey Taylor (58 votes)

Most consistent – Lucky Ika

Leading goal kicker – Aiden Graveson (27 goals)

Most improved – Mackenzie Padley and Zachary Jenkinson

Best first year player/s – Riley Ika and Jaxon Turner

Coach’s award – Luke Smith and Angus Butt

17 and under netball

B&F – Bonnie McIlvride (50 votes)

Runner up – Kasey Mornane (28 votes)

Coach’s award – Madelyn Barber and Melanie Dent

15 and under netball

B&F – Dakota Cosson (45 votes)

Runner up – Tessa O’Callaghan (33 votes)

Coach’s award – Zoe McGregor

Under 14 football

B&F – Joshua O’Donohue (67 votes)

Runner up – Samuel Jenkinson (56 votes)

Most consistent – Tomas Dearman

Leading goal kicker – Samuel Jenkinson

Most improved – Bailey Hosemans 

Best under 13 player – Vanilla Ika

Coach’s award – Layn Hendy and Brady Turner

13 and under netball

B&F – Madi Taylor (55 votes)

Runner up – Molly Orr (51 votes)

Coach’s award – Annabel Bennett and Elise Bibby

Youth girls football

B&F – Crystal Summers

Runner up – Alicia Myers

Most consistent – Tahlia Barnett

Leading goal kicker – Amy Hodgetts (11 goals)

Encouragement award – Jayme Field

Most improved – Elisha Baulch