Novice champions crowned

WINNERS: Wimmera Division novice singles champions Deb MacInnes and Darren Wishart. Photo: KEITH HAEUSLER
WINNERS: Wimmera Division novice singles champions Deb MacInnes and Darren Wishart. Photo: KEITH HAEUSLER

Darren Wishart, of Sunnyside, has been crowned the Wimmera Division novice singles champion.

Wishart defeated fellow Sunnyside Bowling Club member Ron Tollbring 21-7 in the final. Wishart had played Charles Rethus, of Nhill, and Tollbring played Oliver Kemp, of Coughlin Park, in the semi-finals.

In the ladies section, Deb MacInnes defeated Carol Wishart 21-5 in their final.

Both ladies are members of the Sunnyside Bowling Club.

Wishart and MacInnes will now represent the Wimmera in the region finals.

The winner of that competition will play in the final 16 in Melbourne.

It was great to see good numbers contest these events and the experience gained and lessons learned will hold these players in good stead for the future.

State pairs

Day one of the division state pairs was also contested on Sunday.

In the ladies competition, Judy Cassidy and Mavis Janetzki (s), of Sunnyside, and Jodie and Di (s) Maddern, of Kaniva, were both undefeated to win their section. The ladies will play off in the final at a date yet to be decided.

Ron Dolby and Daniel Gloury (s), of Horsham City, have wrapped up one section of the men’s competition.

The other section is still to be decided, with Sunnyside’s Keith Haeusler and Ash Batchelor, and Horsham City’s Govan Bellinger and Ron Goudie (s) both remaining undefeated with matches still to play.

The battle will continue at a later date to determine who will meet Dolby and Gloury in the final.

Bragging rights

This Sunday at the Ararat Bowling Club the four divisions in our region will be playing for bragging rights in the men’s round robin competition.

Sixteen men from the Grampians, North Central, North Wimmera and Wimmera divisions will face off against each other.

The side chosen to represent the Wimmera is: Greg Ryan, Col Maddern, Keith Haeusler, Ash Batchelor (s). Darren Gebert, Roger Brown, Kevin Jones, John Lynch (s).

Geoff Bald, Jeff Meyer, Adrian Coad and Geoff Gazelle (s).

Bill Hogan, Larry Bywaters, Wally Dumesny and Murray Gannon (s).

Nhill has six players selected, Kaniva three, Sunnyside and Coughlin Park two each, and one each from Horsham City, Horsham Golf and Dimboola.

Apart from playing for the shields on offer in the matches between the divisions, these games are also part of the selection process to choose a side to represent the region.

Look to Wednesday’s edition of the Wimmera Mail-Times for extensive coverage of the Wimmera Bowls Division.