Noreen Roiter, Dorothy Adamson and Thelma Bartlett win after countback | 2018 Ashes Trophy tournament

NOREEN Roiter, Dorothy Adamson and Thelma Bartlett came out on top after a hotly contested Ashes Trophy event at Horsham Golf Club on February 8.

The 69 entrants formed 23 teams of three for the three-ball-best-ball stableford event hosted by the Horsham Gold Club’s ladies.

At the end of the day four teams had all finished on 49 points with Roiter, Adamson and Bartlett finishing in first place after a countback.

Annie Fechner, Sue Galpin, Chris Burgess claimed second place while  June Crabtree, Julie Obst and Liz Jackman came third.

Lisa Jakobi, Pam Watkins and Leanne Taylor were the unlucky combination that finished fourth after a great day on the course.

The annual competition was in its ninth year and serves as a chance to remember the Black Saturday bushfires of 2009.

Nearest to the pin awards were taken out by Crabtree on the second and 11th holes while Annabelle Plowright came closest on the fourth and McRae was best placed on the 15th.