Hopetoun defeats Walpeup-Underbool by 45 points

GRAB: Laker Ben Marra goes for a chest mark during their 46-point loss to Beulah on Saturday. Picture: LES GRAETZ

GRAB: Laker Ben Marra goes for a chest mark during their 46-point loss to Beulah on Saturday. Picture: LES GRAETZ

HOPETOUN ran out 45-point victors over Walpeup-Underbool at Hopetoun on Saturday.

It was an historic day for Hopetoun, as it played on its home ground for the last time as a standalone club before it merges with Beulah next season.

The Roos made a strong start and the Devils failed to capitalise on opportunities.

The second quarter saw a change in momentum as Hopetoun worked its way back into the contest and improved its entry into the forward 50. 

The side held a four-point advantage at half-time.

The Roos struggled to keep pace in the third term as the Devils clamped down, managing a single goal to Hopetoun’s five.

Both sides traded goals at the start of the final term, but it was Hopetoun’s day. 

The win moved Hopetoun to fifth on the ladder. 

Ben Webster kicked five goals for the Devils, while Hayden Drew and Saw White featured in their best. Ryan Stacey and Travis Latta fought hard for the Roos.

Ouyen United jumped out of the blocks quickly against Sea Lake-Nandaly Tigers.

Ouyen United kicked three of the first four goals, but the Tigers were able to steady late in the quarter and get the scores back to three goals each. 

Ouyen kicked the last three goals of the second term to go into the main break two points ahead.

But the Tigers worked their way back into the lead heading into the last quarter. 

Both sides had a chance to take the points, but at the final siren it was the Tigers who were victorious.

Cliff Ryan kicked seven goals for the Tigers and Jason Collins and Glen Carrick were in the best. 

Andrew Jardine and Benjamin Mole were among the Demons’ best.

Beulah hosted Jeparit-Rainbow and, as expected, Beulah hit hard early, kicking 30 points to eight in the first term.

The Lakers were able to find plenty of space around the ground in the second term and trailed by 23 points at half-time. 

The Blues found another gear throughout the third term and went into the final break 34 points ahead.

They ran out 46-point winners and remain undefeated.

Blues Michael Farrelly, Tyler Lehmann, and Scott Smith were all dominant through the centre, while Trevor Johnston and Christopher Meyer stood tall for Jeparit-Rainbow.


Discuss "Hopetoun defeats Walpeup-Underbool by 45 points"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.