Horsham Cricket Association players among Western Waves best

THREE Horsham Cricket Association players have been selected in the Western Waves team of the 2016-2017 season.

Matt Combe was selected as vice-captain of the side which also included Simon Hopper and Lachie Watts.

Combe’s selection was based on scoring 543 runs at an average of 49.36 and taking 24 wickets at an average of 18.63 for the Horsham Saints.

He said he had worked hard to more consistent for his side.

“I just worked hard on my batting and bowling,” he said.

“Maybe the pre-game hits in the nets with the skipper helped.”

Hopper was selected as an opening batsman having scored 669 runs at an average of 55.75 as Homers marched towards the A Grade premiership.

He also chipped in with 21 wickets at 12.95.

Hopper said his approach at the top of the order changed slightly in 2016-17.

“I had a different opening partner with Sandy Hodge coming back to the side,” he said.

“He is obviously very solid and reliable so I could bat a bit more aggressively. You’re lucky if you can bat with Sandy at the other end.”

Dimboola’s Watts was selected after compiling 584 runs at 48.67 and claiming 15 wickets at 25.53.

After the region’s association compile their best sides the final 12 players are selected based on statistics. Seven of the 12 players in the team have previously been selected. 

Hopper was selected captain of the 2015-2016 side and this year is his third selection, the most of any player in the team’s six year history.

“It’s good to see a couple of other Horsham players in the team as well,” he said.

It is the second time both Combe and Watts have been recognised in the honorary team.

Waves president Kelvin White said there were undeniable trends in the make-up of the region team.

“Good batsmen make runs most seasons with six of the first seven in this year’s batting order re-appearing while bowlers may still have good seasons but might not pick up high numbers of wickets every year,” he said.

Horsham Cricket Association secretary Darren Chesterfield said it was good recognition for three players that played consistent cricket.

“It’s also good that it was three players from three different clubs,” he said.

“This is the first time the association has had three players selected in the same 12. I think that is pretty good going.”

Members of the Waves team will receive framed certificates in Hamilton on Sunday.

The players are also considered for selection in the Victorian Country Cricket League team of the year which will be announced in early August.

Team of the Season

Brendan Huf (capt) – St Andrews, Hamilton

Simon Hopper – Homers, Horsham

Heinrich Joyce – Grampians, Hamilton

Jason Perera – Port Fairy, Warrnambool

Lachie Watts – Blackheath-Dimboola, Horsham

Matt Combe (c capt) – Horsham Saints, Horsham

Cameron Williams – Russels Creek, Warrnambool

Mark Murphy – East Warrnambool-YCW, Warnambool

Patrick Gregory – St Arnaud, Wimmera-Mallee

Michael Vogels – Heytsebury Rebels, South West

Ben Eveans – Wesley-CBC, Warrnambool